The Dewey Decimal System

One Melvil Dewey created the Dewey Decimal system in 1876.  It consists of 10 classes, each with 100 divisions (000-099) and then more specific sections beyond that in the decimals.  The system’s broadest outline, the classes, seems pretty straight-forward.  It’s the details that show the quirks of Dewey’s system, providing a portrait of how he saw the world, and of how that view has changed (or not) in more than a century and a quarter.  In a nutshell, the Dewey Decimal classification is as follows:

000 – Computer science, information, and general works

100 – Philosophy and psychology

200 – Religion

300 – Social sciences

400 – Language

500 – Science

600 – Technology

700 – Arts

800 – Literature

900 – History and geography (& biography)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s