Problems in the 150s

When I say problems in the 150s, I don’t mean mis-shelved books or a need for some weeding.  No, the problems are the topics covered.  When I first hit the 150s and started looking, I groaned (inwardly) about what on earth I was going to find to read.  There were books on how to get along with difficult people, how to convince others to do what you want, how to get over your childhood traumas, plus loneliness, suicide, grieving, and a whole host of other heavy topics.

As I looked, though, I started to find books that I was genuinely interested to read, and eventually even had to pare my stack down to just three.  That was when I realized something important about this experiment: if there are enough books (maybe 100 linear feet of 150s), I can always find something interesting; it’s when there’s a measly foot or two on the shelves (880s, 030s) that I really struggle.*

The contenders:

152.1 See What I’m Saying: The Extraordinary Powers of Our Five Senses, by Lawrence D. Rosenblum (2010).

155.92 Lonely: A Memoir, by Emily White (2010).

155.444 One and the Same: My Life as an Identical Twin and What I’ve Learned About Everyone’s Struggle to Be Singular, by Abigail Pogrebin (2009).

*It’s enough to make me want to start measuring shelves and posting the data….  Yes, I am my father’s daughter.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

