Overdue

Overdue, version 1: I haven’t posted in a hound’s age.  (I believe that is a long time.)

Overdue, version 2: I finished several books in early December and still haven’t written them down.

Overdue, version 3: I’ve selected and started reading a whole stack of non-fiction but haven’t actually finished an entire book in more than a month.  I blame my knitting.

Overdue, version 4: I pulled my usual stunt of missing the first week of January (it always slips by so fast!) and therefore ended up with a massive stack of overdue books, most of which were for this project and most of which (see Overdue, version 3) were unfinished.  I have not yet faced my fines, but I rest easy in the knowledge that with my fines I am a strong supporter– nay, a full-fledged benefactor!– of my local library.

The books that I was considering and/or am in the midst of reading are:

320.6096  The Challenge for Africa, by Wangari Maathai (2009).

323.1197071  Indian Country: Inside Another Canada, by Larry Krotz (1990).

325.73  American Passage: The History of Ellis Island, Vincent J. Cannato (2009).

355.0092  The Devil’s Broker: Seeking Gold, God, and Glory in 14th Century Italy, by Frances Stonor Saunders (2005).

355.70940902  The Medieval Fortress: Castles, Forts, and Walled Cities of the Middle Ages, by J.E. Kaufmann (2004).

358.380973  Germs: Biological Weapons and America’s Secret War, by Judith Miller (2001).

781.11  Musicophilia: Tales of Music and the Brain, by Oliver Sacks (2007).

786.2092  The Blue Piano and Other Stories, by Carol Montparker (2004).

787.219092   Stradivarius: One Cello, Five Violins, and a Genius, by Toby Faber (2004). [This gets the booby prize for a cover that cleverly camouflages a newish title as a worn out 1960s book about to be weeded out of the collection.]

796.4209  3:59.4 The Quest to Break the Four Minute Mile, by John Bryant (2004).

797.21  The Complete Book of Swimming, by Phillip Whitten (1994).

796.41  The New Rules of Lifting for Women: Lift Like a Man, Look Like a Goddess, by Lou Schuler (2007)

And, yes, I realise that this list is a bit …optimistic.  You see why everything’s overdue?

This entry was posted in 300s, 700s, Decisions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Overdue

  1. DoingDewey says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who sometimes can’t pick just one book for a number 🙂 Once you get in there and really look, there are just so many interesting books to choose from!

Leave a Reply

