Slim pickings in the 020s

The 020s seem a logical next step: it’s the home of books on libraries and information sciences, a subject I figure I should brush up on if I’m going to be letting Melvil Dewey and his modern-day counterparts at OCLC structure my non-fiction reading for the next couple of years.  I had hoped to find a book on Dewey himself, having a vague memory of an intriguing-sounding biography from several years back.  Alas, the 020s are a bit thin at my local library, and no such book was to be found.  The possibilities:

028.550942 The Child That Books Built, by Francis Spufford (2002).

027.009 Library: An Unquiet History, by Matthew Battles (2003).

028.09 A History of Reading, by Alberto Manguel (1996).

This entry was posted in 000s, Decisions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slim pickings in the 020s

  1. Laura says:

    Battles wins for cleverest title, I think. Shhh!

Leave a Reply

