Starting with the 910s

I found myself in front of the 910s at my local library the other day and decided that it must be time to begin my challenge.  What, that doesn’t happen to you?  I guess there’s something about the genre of “men who die in the cold” that I find appealing.  And it’s not just because it’s bitterly cold where I live, as I also loved reading about death in frigid climates when I was living in the desert.

I found three great possibilities, and lots of other intriguing books as well.  A fruitful section!

917.195 This Distant and Unsurveyed Country: A Woman’s Winter at Baffin Island, 1857-58, by W. Gillies Ross (1997).

910.916327 Arctic Crossing: A Journey Through the Northwest Passage and Inuit Culture, by Jonathan Waterman (2001).

910.91632 To the End of the Earth: Our Epic Journey to the North Pole and the Legend of Peary and Henson, by Tom Avery (2009).

I think that I’ll have to limit myself to one book per decade of the Dewey system, if I ever hope to finish this (heck, even start it!).  Not sure which I’ll choose….

This entry was posted in 900s, Decisions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

